Liège–Bastogne–Liège, often called La Doyenne (“the oldest”), is one of the five ‘Monuments’ of the European professional road cycling calendar. It is run in the Ardennes region of Belgium, from Liège to Bastogne and back. Liège–Bastogne–Liège was part of the UCI Road World Cup and is part of the Belgian Ardennes Classics series, which includes La Flèche Wallonne. Both are organised by Amaury Sport Organisation. At one time, Flèche Wallonne and Liège–Bastogne–Liège were run on successive days as Le Weekend Ardennais. Only seven riders have won both races in the same year: the Swiss Ferdi Kübler twice (in 1951 and 1952), Belgians Stan Ockers (1955) and Eddy Merckx (1972), Italians Moreno Argentin (1991) and Davide Rebellin, the Spaniard Alejandro Valverde (2006) and finally Philippe Gilbert in 2011 as part of a quadruple victory with the Amstel Gold Race and the Brabantse Pijl.