Mirinda Carfrae

Mirinda Carfrae (born 26 March 1981) is an Australian professional triathlete and the current Ironman triathlon world champion. Carfrae has achieved podium positions in all six of her attempts at the Ironman World Championships: three gold (2010, 2013, 2014), two silver (2009 and 2011, behind Chrissie Wellington on both occasions) and a bronze (2012, behind Leanda Cave and Caroline Steffen). She was also world champion at the 2007 Ironman 70.3 World Championship. Carfrae holds the Ironman Championship course record (8:52:14, set in 2013), beating Wellington’s record of 8:54:02 which had stood since 2009. On her debut in 2009, she set a new course record for the marathon of 2:56:51, beating Wellington’s record of 2:57:44 set the previous year. She again set new course records for the marathon in 2010 (2:53:32), 2011 (2:52:09, where Wellington—suffering from serious injuries—also beat Carfrae’s 2010 record), 2013 (2:50:38, where only two men recorded a faster time), and 2014 (2:50:26).