Paris–Nice, “the race to the sun”, is a professional cycling stage race held each March. It was first held in 1933, and was won by Alfons Schepers of Belgium. The most successful rider in Paris–Nice has been Sean Kelly of Ireland, who won seven consecutive races from 1982 to 1988. Despite its name the race has not always started in Paris, with towns in the outskirts (or south of Paris) often preferred. The final stage generally finishes on either the Promenade des Anglais in Nice or the Col d’Eze, a pass on the Haute Corniche road near the city. During the 2003 race, Kazakhstan’s Andrei Kivilev died as the result of a head injury sustained in an accident. His death prompted the UCI to mandate the use of helmets in all competition, except for the last part of a race with an uphill finish. The rule was later changed to require helmets at all times. Paris–Nice is currently organised by the Amaury Sport Organisation (ASO). ASO also organizes other races (such as the Tour de France and Paris–Roubaix) and sporting events (including the Dakar Rally and the Paris Marathon). The ownership of Paris–Nice has changed hands several times. For many years it was run by the French cycling journalist Jean Leulliot, and after his death by his family. It was then taken over by Tour de France winner Laurent Fignon before passing on to ASO. Since 2009 it has been one of 24 races on the UCI World Calendar, counting towards the UCI World Ranking.